Freeing your mind from negative beliefs

4 Sep

Until I became aware of my own thoughts and the automatic nature of my mind, I was a prisoner to my thoughts.  That sounds extreme but it is true.  The only reality I ever had, was the one my mind allowed me to think.

I had a series of dreams a while ago.  It seemed like every morning I’d wake up with a new understanding and awareness and then as my mind awoke the awareness I felt, slipped away.

One dream that I remember very clearly was being immersed in an understanding and knowing that everything just is.  It is all neutral.  It is only our minds that put meanings and judgements on things.  Calling this bad and that good.  In the dream, I just experienced the neutralness of all things.  It wasn’t something I understood in a mind, thinking sort of way.  It was what I felt and knew – that everything, everything is just is, is just neutral, is.  And then on that morning, as my mind woke up, I saw how it began to put labels on things and meanings on things until that awareness slipped away and I was back in the landscape of my mind.

Recently, I’ve been watching videos of Byron Katie and she definitely understands this.  Her teachings, we she calls ‘The Work’ are an amazingly simple and very effective way of breaking your mind free of all its set thinking, judgements and limiting beliefs.  For anyone that struggles with habitual negative thinking, I would highly recommend her technique as it provides an excellent to dissolve them, once and for all and open your mind to new ways of experiencing and seeing life.

It’s not a quick fix, as Katie says, “There are children in there,” and a lifetime of negative limiting thinking will take some time to address but it is well well worth doing.  It is a process.  First becoming aware of the automatic thoughts that are running your life and then becoming aware of how they effect you emotionally and physically and then, questioning them, exploring them and dissolving them.

If you are looking for a way to free your mind of negative thinking, visit Katie’s site on youtube here and try it out for yourself.  The Work of Byron Katie.

2 Responses to “Freeing your mind from negative beliefs”

  1. Jane Haislip September 9, 2010 at 11:15 am #

    I loved this post and enjoy listening to Byron Katie. Not there yet, but heading that direction. janie

  2. oriondiamond November 12, 2010 at 4:43 pm #

    Great post – To true sometimes there are so many beliefs and thoughts there which take time to shift!

    Think im 95% there now! thank god! ryan

Leave a comment